College of Veterinary Medicine

Integrative Physiology and Neuroscience

2013 Awards


  • Congratulations to Dr. Bob Ritter, Professor in Neuroscience for being elected to the Washington State Academy of Sciences.
  • March 2013: Jonathan Wisor, Suzy Appleyard, and Gary Wayman all have been granted tenure and promoted to Associate Professor effective July 1, 2013. 


  • Lindsey Ballsmider received a Biology Travel Award from Council on Undergraduate Research (CUR) for her abstract entitled "Vertical gastric sleeve surgery does not reduce body fat accumulation or body weight gain in lean Sprague Dawley male rats" that was submitted to  .  The award is up to $250 (matching institutional funds). 
  • Two Neuroscience students were selected as top winners at SURCA and received the Crimson award and a $250 prize for their excellent presentations. These students are: Marcus Lacey (mentor: Jim Peters) “Acute Desensitization of Afferent Vagus Nerve Activation by Cholecystokinin (CCK) at the CCK-1 Receptor” and Alisha McBride (mentor: Rebecca Craft) “Ovarian Hormone Modulation of Supraspinal THC-Induced Analgesia”.
  • Ranganath Mamidi received the GPSA Fall 2012 Research Assistance Excellence award.
  • Beth Graham (Gary Wayman's lab), Michelle David (Krzysztof Caja's lab), and Katherine Martucci (Samantha Swindell's lab/ Psychology) were winners of the Auvil Fellowship for 2012.


2012 Awards and Honors

Also see the WSU CVM Awards Pages

Click Year to Expand View of Earlier Awards


  • James Krueger was elected to the Washington State Academy of Sciences.  Induction was held at the 5th annual meeting in September.
  • Lane Brown (promoted to Associate Professor with tenure), Tricia Talcott (promoted to Clinical Professor) and Sue Ritter (promoted to Regence Professor) spring 2012.
  • Jerry Newberry Teaching scholars named Spring of 2012 (for Fall Semester) include Patricia Talcott, Sunshine Lahmers and Leslie Sprunger.
  • Joseph Harding and John Wright were honored an the annual Showcase celebration March 30 for their patent, "C-met receptor regulation by angiotensin IV (AT4) receptor ligands."


  • Jenny Browning was awarded the Karen Depauw leadership award (1/6/2012).
  • Scholarship winners named at the Spring Poster and Student Recognition Event include Matthew Landowski and Amanda Feeney (Peter A. Zornes Memorial Scholarship) and Shelby Weeks ($500), Michelle David ($500), and Drew Neyens ($1,000) who earned Neuroscience Endowed Scholarships for the 2012-13 academic year.
  • Graduating Neuroscience Seniors Rachel Wanty and Omar Bayomy were given the two academic achievement awards for WSU during the Big Ten Seniors Barbecue (May 3, 2012).
  • Other student awards


  • 2012:


  • 2012:

Last Edited: Apr 09, 2013 9:28 AM   

IPN, PO Box 647620, 205 Veterinary and Biomedical Research, Washington State University, Pullman, WA 99164-7620, 509-335-6624 Contact UsSafety Links