College of Veterinary Medicine

Development & External Relations

The Amazing Class of ‘61 Pays it Forward with a Professionalism Endowment and Scholarship

On May 28, 1961 forty-two men and one woman were awarded Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degrees from Washington State University. Graduation was held in Roger’s Field, the football stadium now known as Martin Stadium. Afterward the Veterinarian’s Oath was administered by Dean Earnest C. Stone in the Compton Union Building.

Since then, the career paths of the members of the class have spanned private and public practice, public health, industry, and academic research and teaching. They have held leadership positions in local and state veterinary associations, academia, school and hospital boards, and a variety of other professional and civic groups.

Over the years the Class of ‘61 has remained unusually close. Each Christmas they publish a newsletter without fail and have held four class reunions. In appreciation for the education and guidance they received from the administration and faculty of the College of Veterinary Medicine and as a memorial to deceased members of the class, they established the Professionalism Endowment to recognize a high degree of professionalism among veterinary students at WSU. In 2011, they had raised $39,500 for the endowment.

Class 1961
Class of 1961 at their 50th reunion in Pullman, June 2011.
(front, l-r) Ken Kellogg, Tom Kelly. BobBill Berry, Tom Migaki (middle row, l-r) Jim Murphy, Dave Anderson,
Bill Moffat, Greg Nelson, Ray Ediger, Gary Duskin
(back row, l-r) Ed Kearley, Ray Johnston, Rich Guthrie, Jim Lebo,
Ken MacRae, Paul Bissonette, Bob Haskell, Bob Wilson, Mel Dennis
Larger View of Photo


To make a gift by mail:
Please make check payable to the WSU Foundation and indicate it is for the Class of '61 Professionalism Endowment and Scholarship.  Send the check to:

Lynne Haley
PO Box 647010
Washington State University
Pullman, WA 99164-7010

For questions about giving, contact Lynne Haley, Director of Development, at (509) 335-5021 or

Nicholas Paulson
Nicholas Paulson (DVM ’12) receiving the first Class of ’61
Professionalism Award from Dr. Robert Wilson,
former dean of the college.


Twenty-three class members attended their 50th class reunion in June 2011. They presented Nicholas Paulson (Class of 2012) with the first Class of 1961 Professionalism Award. Funds from the endowment are used to provide awards to students completing their third year of the DVM curriculum. Awardees exemplify professionalism, demonstrate knowledge and competence; compassion; attention to duty; adherence to ethical standards; and have respectful and caring relations with classmates. The selection is made by a vote of the third-year class.

The college thanks all the class members and spouses for their generosity and support. And special thanks to Dr. Bob Wilson for spearheading both the scholarship endowment and the 2011 reunion.

Scott Anderson
2012 Class of '61 Professionalism Award
From left: Nancy Anderson; Dr. Robert Wilson, former dean of the college; and Scott Anderson (DVM '13), award recipient.
Last Edited: Aug 14, 2012 10:14 AM   

Development  & External Relations, PO Box 647010 , Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-7010, Contact Us  Safety Links