Recognition Awards

Resident & Graduate Student: Teaching, Service & Research Awards

Resident & Graduate Student Awards 2012

Dr. Melissa Ackerman received the Dr. Arturs Vitums Scholarship In Veterinary Anatomy. This award is based on excellence in veterinary graduate anatomy and is chosen by veterinary anatomy faculty. April 2012

Dr. Sabrina Barry received the Dr. Ghery Pettit & Dr. Jack Robinette Surgery Scholarship which is given to a resident in small animal surgery, selected by the small animal surgery faculty. April 2012

Dr. Camila Souza received the Dr. Ivor Evans Memorial Scholarship for Cancer Research which is awarded to a professional or graduate veterinary student who is actively engaged in cancer research. April 2012

Dr. Christopher MacKay received the Dr. John R. Gorham Fellowship in veterinary medicine. April 2012

Qian Liu received the Dr. Lynn A. George Scholarship which is awarded to a graduate student in veterinary science studying a basic research problem. April 2012

Dr. Kelly Might received the Dr. Philip Gollnick Scholarship awarded to a graduate student studying exercise science. April 2012

Dr. Melissa Tucker received the Dr. Richard L. Ott Endowment For Graduate Research in Small Animal Medicine Award which is awarded to a veterinary graduate student actively engaged in small animal medicine research. April 2012

Dr. Christopher MacKay received the Dr. Ron Sande Radiology Scholarship awarded to a resident in diagnostic imaging and selected by the radiology faculty. April 2012

Drs. Kevin Choy and Sara Johns received the Jessie Strickler Scholarship awarded to an intern or resident in oncology or cardiology and selected by the clinical faculty. April 2012

Dr. Kerry Sondgeroth received the Mr.& Mrs. Delbert Caldwell Graduate Student Scholarship awarded to a graduate student Interested in production animal medicine. April 2012

Dr. Kevin Choy received the Outstanding House Officer Award which is chosen by the fourth year students based on his/her excellence in teaching, mentoring, acting as a role model and demonstrating compassion for clients and patients. April 2012

Drs. Jessie Ziegler and Sarah Giebel and Carlos Campos received the Ron and Sheila Pera Scholarship Resident Award given to graduate or residents from the western US who intend to continue their careers in their home state. April 2012

Dr. Sarah Giebel is a recipient of a WVC Food Animal Incentive Award Details April 2012

Dr. Sabrina Barry was selected as a recipient of the 2012 Mark Bloomberg Resident Research Award by the Veterinary Orthopedic Society for her abstract submission. Dr. Barry is the first resident from WSU to receive this award in the 16 year history it has been offered. December 2011

Washington State University