WSU_1_007: Equine Blood

Up WSU_2_077 WSU_2_095 WSU_2_042 WSU_2_069 WSU_1_016 WSU_3_076 WSU_3_067 WSU_1_041 WSU_1_007

 The leukocytes (white blood cells) are commonly divided into the polymorphonuclear cells (PMNs) or granulocytes and the mononuclear cells. The PMNs or granulocytes have segmented nuclei (hence, polymorphonuclear = many shaped nucleus) and contain primary lysosomal granules.

The neutrophils, eosinophils and basophils fall into this group. The basophils contain basophilic granules, the eosinophils contain acidophilic (eosinophilic) granules, and the neutrophils contain granules which stain neutral, neither strongly basophilic or acidophilic. Actually, sometimes the granules in neutrophils stain faintly acidophilic.

Monocytes, which become macrophages in the tissue, and lymphocytes are mononuclear cells.  Monocytes are tricky in that they have a pleomorphic nucleus, sometimes appearing lobed, and you may see lysosomal vacuoles. Actually, monocytes contain many primary lysosomes - they just are not always visible.

The "formed" elements of blood include erythrocytes and platelets. Erythrocytes are not true cells in mammals because they discharge their nucleus before entering circulation. Likewise, in mammals, platelets do not have nuclei as they are merely cytoplasmic fragments of megakaryocytes.

Click on links below.

neutrophil eosinophil basophil monocyte lymphocyte erythrocyte platelets

[WebSlide] Blood_WSU; Blood Smear (WSU_1_007)