Recognition Awards

Other Distinguished Faculty Awards

Other Distinguished Faculty Awards 2003

Jun 22, 2016, 09:41 AM by User Not Found

Terry F. McElwain

Terry F. McElwain, Washington State University veterinary professor and executive director of the Washington Animal Disease Diagnostic Laboratory (WADDL), recently received the 2003 E.P. Pope Award from the American Association of Veterinary Laboratory Diagnosticians (AAVLD).

The award is the highest honor given by the association. It was presented to McElwain, also director of the WSU Animal Health Research Center, for his contributions to the association and for his extensive work in veterinary diagnostic laboratory medicine. more


Dr. Larry Fox Receives Merial Award posted June 4 2003
Savoy, Ill., - The American Dairy Science Association is proud to announce Dr. Lawrence K. Fox, professor, Washington State University, as the recipient of the 2003 Merial Dairy Management Research Award. This award, sponsored by Merial, will be presented on Tuesday, June 25, 2003 during the awards ceremony at the ADSA Annual Meeting in Phoenix.

Fox earned his B.S. in Animal Science at Cornell University in 1977, his M.S. at Virginia Tech in 1980, and his Ph.D. at the University of Wisconsin in 1983. After a 2-year period as Extension Dairy Specialist at the University of Hawaii, Fox joined the faculty at Washington State University in 1985. During his tenure, important decision strategies have been developed and applied to minimize the economic impact of contagious mastitis on dairy farms.

His research has progressed from microbiology and pathology of clinical mastitis toward an increasing management emphasis to reduce its economic impact on farms. Fox has been an active member and leader of the National Mastitis Council and other ADSA and USDA committees. He has authored or coauthored 70 peer-reviewed publications and numerous other publications and has spoken at many national and international conferences. Fox received the ADSA West Agro Mastitis Award in 1991.


Dr. Robert C. Speth

Dr. Robert C. Speth Receives the WSU Science Libraries' Service Award posted June 2003

On Monday, June 16th the WSU Science Libraries' Service Award was presented to Robert C. Speth, Veterinary and Comparative Anatomy, Pharmacology and Physiology Department.

Since 1984 Speth has been both a strong advocate for the WSU science libraries and an active member of numerous university library committees, as well as a frequent library user. In July he will assume the position of Chair of the Department of Pharmacology, University of Mississippi.

The Science Libraries Service Award is awarded to a WSU faculty or staff member who has made outstanding, long-term contributions to the Science Libraries.


Clinical Environmental Enrichment Award posted Jan. 03

From the students: "To show our appreciation for all of the wonderful "little things" that people do to enhance the clinical year at WSU, a student-generated award was founded. Although this award was announced at the holiday party, the nominees and winners have so greatly enhanced the lives of 4th year students that they deserve many congratulations and thank yous. What better way to start off 2003 than by recognizing some of the people that are constantly giving to students and helping us reach our dreams.

Fourth year students were asked to pick an individual from large animal medicine and one from small animal medicine that has made their clinical experience more enjoyable. The individuals with the most nominees from each category received a check from Hill's."

Small Animal Nominees:

James NcNaughton, Dr. Kiklevich, Dr. Finch, Dr. Lincoln, Dr. McEwen, Jayme Jones, and Megan (technician). Dr. Lincoln received the most nominations in this category.

Large Animal Nominees:

Dr. Parish, Dr. Barrington, Dr. Christina Hewes, Devin Clinton, Shirley Sandoval, Dr. Tibary, and Molly (technician). Dr. Tibary received the most nominations in this category.


Washington State University