Recognition Awards

Other Distinguished Faculty Awards

Other Distinguished Faculty Awards 2005

Jun 22, 2016, 09:45 AM by User Not Found

James Krueger
, professor of Veterinary and Comparative Anatomy, Pharmacology and Physiology, recently received an honorary M.D. degree from the University of Szeged, Hungary. He has had a longstanding collaborative relationship with Ference Obal (recently deceased) at the University of Szeged. They worked together in the area of sleep research. Additional Information


Dr. Travis Maguire

Dr. Travis Maguire Inducted into the Equine Research Hall of Fame Oct 2005

Dr. Travis Maguire, an immunologist at Washington State University has been inducted into the Equine Research Hall of Fame from the University of Kentucky Gluck Equine Research Foundation. He was honored on October 10 at the Keeneland Race Course in Lexington, Kentucky.

Dr. Maguire is known for his studies in the equine immune system and the host's immune response to infectious diseases.


Dr. Robert Schneider

Dr. Robert Schneider is the recipient of the McEachern Distinguished Professorship in Equine Medicine summer 2005

Professor Robert K. Schneider, an internationally known equine orthopedic surgeon at Washington State University's College of Veterinary Medicine, is the current recipient of the four-year Robert B. McEachern Distinguished Professorship in Equine Medicine.

Dr. Schneider is the immediate past president of the American College of Veterinary Surgeons. He is also a previous recipient of the WSU Faculty Member of the Year Award from the Washington State Veterinary Medical Association. Dr. Schneider's specialty is surgery on bones and joints of horses, especially equine athletes, performance and show horses, and valuable breeding stock.

The professorship was established with a private gift from Robert B. and Margaret McEachern in 1995. The intent of the couple's gift was "to make WSU's educational program in equine medicine even stronger and to further the college's reputation for quality research in this field." Complete story in equine News, Summer 2005


Dr. Harmon Rogers

Congratulations to Dr. Harmon Rogers who recently received the prestigious IVD Award from the American Association of Animal Hospitals (posted April 18, 2005)

The INNOVATIVE VETERINARY DIETS AWARD (FORMERLY the CYCLE AWARD) is traditionally presented to an AAHA member who has made extensive contributions to the practice of veterinary medicine and surgery and in particular, small animal veterinary medicine or surgery.

This award is presented by Innovative Veterinary Diets, a brand in the veterinary division of Royal Canin USA, and consists of a "Golden Fido" statue and an honorarium from Royal Canin. A permanent in-house plaque engraved with the winner's name is displayed at the AAHA headquarters building.

The Award specifically stipulates that:...

... "The recipient should have been in the forefront of the veterinary profession during the last five years by giving of this individual's self and knowledge to the betterment of the veterinary profession."


Washington State University