Recognition Awards

Other Distinguished Faculty Awards

Other Distinguished Faculty Awards 2007

Jun 22, 2016, 15:47 PM by User Not Found

The Calvin W. Schwabe Award

Dr. Clive C. Gay receives the The Calvin W. Schwabe Award in Veterinary Epidemiology and Preventive Medicine (December 2007)

The Calvin W. Schwabe Award is presented annually by the AVEPM to honor lifetime achievement in veterinary epidemiology and preventive medicine. This years honoree is: Dr. Clive C. Gay.

On behalf of the Association for Veterinary Epidemiology and Preventive Medicine (AVEPM), I am pleased to announce that Dr. Clive Gay, Professor Emeritus from Washington State University, has been selected as the 2007 recipient of the Calvin W. Schwabe Award for Lifetime Achievement in Veterinary Epidemiology and Preventive Medicine. This award is presented annually by the AVEPM, and previous recipients include Drs. Calvin W. Schwabe, Robert K. Anderson, James H. Steele, and S. Wayne Martin. This award was presented on December 2, 2007 at the Conference of Research Workers in Animal Diseases (CRWAD) at a special symposium featuring a keynote address delivered by Dr. Gay in addition to presentations from colleagues and protgs.

Dr. Clive C. Gay served on the faculty at Washington State University from 1979 until 2005, and was the division head for population medicine, theriogenology, and food animal medicine and surgery within the Department of Clinical Sciences from 1988 through 2005. Dr. Gay received DVM and MVSc degrees from the University of Guelph, and later became a Fellow of the Australian College of Veterinary Scientists. Before joining the faculty at WSU, he served as a Lecturer at the University of Glasgow and the University of Melbourne.

In 1983, Dr. Gay led in the development of the Field Disease Investigation Unit (FDIU) at WSU, a much-admired service unit in applied veterinary epidemiology. The FDIU quickly established an excellent reputation with livestock producers for responding meaningfully to their problems, with research faculty for integrating field research with bench science, and with the academic veterinary community for raising the standard and image of field-based epidemiological service and research. Emulation of this integrative model has been attempted by veterinary institutions from around the world, but none have superseded the original, which is undoubtedly due in large part to the spirit infused by Clive Gay.

Dr. Gays unique blend of clinical skills, self-effacing demeanor, practical knowledge, and scientific ability are hallmarks of his interaction with producers, students, veterinarians, researchers, and decision-makers at the local, national, and international level. The hallmark of his research activity has been its applicability to practical issues faced by livestock producers. He is a dedicated and effective teacher, having contributed to the education of veterinary students for more than 40 years, particularly in the art and skill of physical diagnosis.

Dr. Gay was also an advisor, invaluable mentor, and committee member for 29 PhD and MS students during his career. He is an author on more than 90 peer-reviewed journal publications, in addition to publishing numerous book chapters, including several for the Merck Veterinary Manual. To some, he may be best known for his contribution to one of the most influential veterinary textbooks ever published, Veterinary Medicine - A Textbook of the Diseases of Cattle, Horses, Sheep, Pigs and Goats. Dr. Gay was a contributing author to the 5th, 6th, and 7th editions, and was a co-editor for the 8th, 9th, and most recently, the 10th edition which was published in 2007. With his broad expertise and unequalled knowledge of pertinent literature, it is not surprising that he was also a co-author of the 3rd edition of Saunders Comprehensive Veterinary Dictionar.

Dr. Cheryl Dhein is presented with the 2007 Shirley Davis Award for Excellence in Synchronous Distance Learning. The National University Telecommunications Network (NUTN) 2007 Shirley Davis Award for Excellence in Synchronous Distance Learning competition recognizes the work of individuals, organizations and institutions in providing synchronous distance learning (via web- or video-conferencing) of a superior nature. The award was presented at the NUTN annual meeting in Philadelphia on June 12.

Dr. Ahmed Tibary, D.V.M., Department of Clinical Sciences, has received the Veterinary Achievement Award from the Alpaca Research Foundation. Dr. Tibary is honored for his generosity in presenting the Annual ARF Lecture. The Mission of the Alpaca Research Foundation is to encourage and support scientific research which benefits the North American alpaca industry primarily in the areas of alpaca health and husbandry, genetics and fiber.

Drs. Wendy Brown & David Prieur Elected as American Association  for Advancement of Science Fellows (October 2007)

Election as a Fellow of AAAS is an honor bestowed upon members by their peers. Fellows are recognized for meritorious efforts to advance science or its applications.

Dr Brown is a faculty member of  the Department of Veterinary Microbiology and Pathology. She has made distinguished contributions to understanding T-lymphocyte responses to obligate intracellular tick-borne protozoal and rickettsial pathogens yielding vaccine candidates and novel mechanisms used to modulate host immunity.

Dr Prieur is the chair of  the Department of Veterinary Microbiology and Pathology and has made significant contributions to identification and characterization of animal genetic diseases as models of human diseases and leadership in developing an acclaimed Department of Veterinary Pathology.

Dr John Gorham is awarded the Lifetime Excellence in Research Award by the American Veterinary Medical Association. July 2007

Dr. John R. Gorham (WSU '46) received the Lifetime Excellence in Research Award. Accepting the award was Dr. Warwick Bayly. Dr. Gorham is a professor of veterinary microbiology and pathology at Washington State University. He retired from the Department of Agriculture's Agricultural Research Service in 1995. Dr. Gorham traveled to veterinary laboratories throughout the world as a cooperating scientist and lecturer. In 1974, he led the first U.S. veterinary delegation to the Soviet Union.

Dr. Gorham is one of the few veterinarians with expertise in fur animal diseases and developed a spray vaccine that has been used worldwide to immunize mink against distemper. He and Dr. Donald Cordy discovered the rickettsia that causes salmon poisoning. Dr. Gorham is a charter member of the American College of Laboratory Animal Medicine and American College of Veterinary Microbiologists, an honorary diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Pathologists, and a member of the National Academies of Practice.

Professor Emeritus, Robert B. Wilson, was inducted by the House of Delegates of the American Veterinary Medical Association as an Honor Roll Member, at the AVMA convention in Washington, D.C. in the summer of 2007. Bob is a former Professor in VMP, former Professor in WWAMI, former Dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine and former Chair of the Department of Veterinary Microbiology and Pathology. Bob still resides in Pullman.

Dr. Guy Palmer was honored as the 2007 Annual WWAMI Science in Medicine Lecturer at the University of Washington Medical School. His lecture was entitled, Antigenic Variation as a Driver for Pathogen Emergence and Disease Outbreak.


Washington State University