Recognition Awards

Other Distinguished Faculty Awards

Other Distinguished Faculty Awards 2011

Jun 23, 2016, 09:44 AM by User Not Found

Dale Hancock

Dale Hancock receives the The Calvin W. Schwabe Award in Veterinary Epidemiology and Preventive Medicine. The Calvin W. Schwabe Award is presented annually by the AVEPM to honor lifetime achievement in veterinary epidemiology and preventive medicine.

During his tenure at WSU, Dr. Hancock developed and led a pioneering research program in the field of pre-harvest food safety, especially focusing on Escherichia coli O157:H7. This research program defined many of the key epidemiologic features of that agent in diverse animal populations. His research has been guided by a healthy skepticism of magic bullets and a firm belief that the most useful interventions are based on logical modifications of management practices. His research, funded by >$12 million in grants as principal investigator, plus >$1.2 million as co-investigator, has thus far resulted in over 150 refereed manuscripts. Award Details


Guy H. Palmer

Guy H. Palmer, Regents professor and director of the Paul G. Allen School for Global Animal Health at Washington State University, was awarded an honorary doctorate from the University of Bern, Switzerland, on Dec. 3. Details


Dr.Tom Besser and  Dr. Nancy Magnuson

Dr.Tom Besser, professor of veterinary microbiology and pathology, and Dr. Nancy Magnuson, professor of molecular biosciences, named AAAS Fellows.


Dr. Ahmed Tibary

Dr. Ahmed Tibary has been awarded Theriogenologist of the Year for 2011 by the American College of Theriogenology at the combined Society for Theriogenology/ACT annual conference.


Dr. Leslie Sprunger

At their recent national meeting in Ithaca, NY, Dr. Leslie Sprunger was recently named as President-Elect of the American Association of Veterinary Anatomists. Dr. Sprunger has previously served two terms as AAVA's membership secretary and treasurer.


Gary Brown

Dr. Gary Brown recognized by the AAC&U
The Association of American Colleges and Universities (AAC&U) has announced the appointment of Gary R. Brown, long time CVM partner, as senior fellow in the Office of Quality, Curriculum and Assessment. Gary is an assessment consultant at WSU, working with colleges and academic departments on focused assessment projects, including the College of Veterinary Medicine. He was recognized by the AAC&U for his pioneering work at WSU in the area of outcomes assessments. For more please see WSU Today


Vicki Croft

Vicki Croft, Head of the Animal Health Library, has been recognized by the Medical Library Association (MLA) with the Daniel T. Richards Prize. The award is presented annually to an individual who has authored a work related to collections development in the health sciences. Vicki was selected due to her co-authorship of a paper entitled "Basic list of veterinary medical serials, third edition: using a decision matrix to update the core list of veterinary journals." Journal of the Medical Library Association. 2010 Oct 98(4), 282-292. Authors: Ugaz AG, Boyd CT, Croft VF, Carrigan E, & Anderson KM. The MLA is a nonprofit, educational organization with more than 4,000 health sciences information professional members and partners worldwide.  For more on the MLA and D.T. Richards Prize: and


Washington State University