Recognition Awards

Other Teaching Awards

  • CVM Undergraduate Excellence in Teaching Award - 2019

    Mary Sanchez-Lanier

    The first recipient of the inaugural CVM Undergraduate Excellence in Teaching Award is Mary Sanchez-Lanier , a Professor in the School of Molecular Biosciences and WSU Assistant Vice Provost.

    Dr. Sanchez-Lanier was selected for this award upon the recommendation of students and faculty due to her many years of outstanding classroom instruction in virology, her strong leadership in undergraduate education at both the college and provost levels, and her external leadership in undergraduate programs run by the American Society for Microbiology and the Barry M. Goldwater Foundation.


  • Other Teaching Awards 2016

    WSU-Faculty-Award Steve Hines

    Dr. Steve Hines was awarded the 2016 Washington State University (WSU) Faculty Member of the Year. Dr. Hines is a Professor of Veterinary Microbiology & Pathology at WSU College of Veterinary Medicine. Dr. Hines has dedicated his life to improve the learning and overall experience for veterinary students at WSU.


  • Other Teaching Awards 2015

    Dr. Bob Mealey

    Dr. Bob Mealey has been named the McEachern Distinguished Professor of Equine Medicine.

    In accordance with the donors’ interests and wishes, the fund for the Robert B. McEachern Distinguished Professorship in Equine Medicine shall be used to assist in the support of an outstanding senior faculty member to make WSU’s educational program in equine medicine even stronger and to establish a reputation for quality research in this field. Furthermore, honoring Bob McEachern’s intentions concerning a joint equine program between veterinary medicine and animal sciences, it shall be understood that the holder of the distinguished professorship shall, to the extent possible, promote the continued participation of the College of Veterinary Medicine in the animal sciences undergraduate teaching program in equine science by offering lectures and laboratories on equine health related topics.

    Dr. Steve Hines

    Dr. Steve Hines has been named the Berger Keatts Distinguished Professor for a renewed term.

    In accordance with the donors intent and wishes, the income from this fund shall be used to recognize excellence in teaching by supporting an outstanding faculty member in the College of Veterinary Medicine.

  • Other Teaching Awards 2012

    Dr. William B. Davis

    Dr. William B. Davis, associate dean for undergraduate education, has been selected as a Vision and Change Leadership Fellow (VCLF) to help improve undergraduate life science teaching nationwide.

    Davis is part of a team of 40 leadership fellows selected from a pool of more than 250 applicants by the Partnership for Undergraduate Life Sciences Education (PULSE). PULSE is a joint initiative of the National Science Foundation, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, and National Institutes of Health.

    Dr. Raelynn Farnsworth

    Dr. Raelynn Farnsworth was awarded the 2012 National Mentor of the Year by the American Veterinary Dental Society for her dedication to student learning in Veterinary Dentistry at Washington State University.

    Phil Mixter

    Phil Mixter, clinical associate professor in the School of Molecular Biosciences, has received a 2012 WSU Distinguished Teaching Award.

    The award recognizes WSU faculty and students for their outstanding achievements and contributions to undergraduate education.

    Class of 2013 Outstanding Faculty Awards
    1st Year - Dr. Charles Leathers
    2nd Year - Dr. Patricia Talcott
    3rd Year - Dr. Rance Sellon

  • Other Teaching Awards 2010

    Class of 2011 Outstanding Faculty Awards
    1st Year - Dr. Charles Leathers
    2nd Year - Dr. Patricia Talcott
    3rd Year - Dr. Steve Parish


  • Other Teaching Awards 2009

    Class of 2010 Outstanding Faculty Awards
    1st Year - Dr. Charles Leathers
    2nd Year - Dr. Patricia Talcott
    3rd Year - Dr. Bonnie Campbell

  • Other Teaching Awards 2007

    Dr. Steve Hines

    Dr. Steve Hines to be Presented with the SAVMA Teaching Excellence Award

    Each year, the Student AVMA presents two Teaching Excellence Awards (TEAs) to recognize outstanding veterinary faculty members in the areas of basic and clinical sciences. The TEA is a unique award, in that it is one of the few national awards that are entirely student nominated and chosen. WSU juniors, Maci Keithly and Emily Wynne, successfully nominated Dr. Stephen Hines for the 2007 basic sciences award.

    The students wrote essay responses to questions such as, "Give examples of methods that this instructor uses to generate enthusiasm for their subject" and "Describe the instructor's use of innovative teaching techniques". Maci and Emily selected Dr. Hines as a candidate through the overwhelming support from their classmates. Many students at WSU have been affected by his love of teaching, exemplary leadership (in and out of the classroom), mentorship, and dedication to make a difference. Many WSU students hope that Dr. Hines has many more years of teaching left in him!! He will be honored in front his colleagues at an awards ceremony at the AVMA Annual Convention in Washington D.C. this summer.


  • Other Teaching Awards 2006

    Dr. Steve Hines

    Dr. Steve Hines is appointed as the Berger Keatts Distinguished Professor

    The College of Veterinary Medicine recently appointed Dr. Steve Hines as the inaugural Berger Keatts Distinguished Professor. This professorship was created with a bequest from the late Dr. Berger Keatts to recognize and support excellence in teaching in the WSU CVM. The College is fortunate to have many truly outstanding teachers and there were a number of very worthy nominees submitted by departmental Chairs.


  • Other Teaching Awards 2000

    Dr. Stephen Hines

    Dr. Steve Hines receives the Washington CASE Award for Excellence in Teaching

    "The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) named the winners of the U.S. Professors of the Year for 2000 in recognition of their extraordinary dedication to teaching, commitment to students, and innovative instructional methods.

    Created by CASE in 1981, the U.S. Professors of the Year Program is the only national awards program that recognizes college and university professors for their teaching. Selected from nearly 500 faculty members nominated by colleges and universities across the country, there are four national winners and 47 state winners."

    "We honor these distinguished professors for guiding the aspirations of their students, advancing knowledge, and elevating the profession of teaching. In recognizing their commitment and excellence, their contributions and their demonstrated passion, we support the centrality of teaching on campus and recognize its importance to the future of our country," said Carnegie Foundation president Lee S. Shulman.


Washington State University