Recognition Awards

Zoetis (formerly Carl Norden) Distinguished Teacher Award



This award is sponsored by Zoetis and recognizes outstanding teachers who have contributed significantly to the advancement of the profession through their teaching abilities. The recipient of this award is selected by the fourth year class.

How the award works:

Each spring, the graduating 4th year students are tasked as follows:

The Zoetis Distinguished Teaching Award goes to a teacher who you feel, through his or her ability, dedication, character and leadership, has contributed significantly to the veterinary profession, as well as to the education of you and your classmates.

Who made the biggest and most important impact on you and the Class of 2016?

It’s very important that you consider ALL of your teachers – think back to first, second, and third year as well as your clinical experience when casting your vote.

The recipient will receive an engraved plaque and a $1,000 check from Zoetis. Each college winner is then eligible to be nominated by the college for the national award.

  • Eligibility:  Nominees must be full-time members of the faculty of the College of Veterinary Medicine and engaged primarily in teaching. Eligibility includes both tenure track and clinical/educator track faculty, but only faculty with the titles of assistant professor, associate professor, or professor. Staff and faculty with the titles of Instructor or Lecturer are not eligible.
  • Previous recipients do not become eligible for consideration again until the fourth year after receiving the award.

Faculty from all WIMU campuses (Pullman, Logan, and Bozeman) are eligible.

Selection: There are at least 2 rounds of voting. At least 50% of the graduating class MUST vote in each round. The first round of voting is nominations.

  • ROUND #1: You can nominate 1-3 faculty for further consideration and voting by using your smart phone, tablet, or any computer to enter the names of your nominee(s).

    To help you remember, we’ve posted a list of the many faculty who taught your class. It’s a long list, so please be sure to review all names. Then enter those names in your survey. The whole process should take less than 5 minutes.

  • In ROUND #2: The college will circulate a ballot with the names of the TOP 3-5 nominees, based on numbers of nominations. The winner will be recognized at the 2016 Spring Awards ceremony and become eligible for the NATIONAL Zoetis Distinguished Teacher Award.

  • Zoetis Distinguished Teacher Award 2014

    Dr. Stephanie Thomovsky

    Dr. Stephanie Thomovsky

    Clinical Assistant Professor of Neurology, Department of Veterinary Clinical Sciences. Dr. Thomovsky's research interests include rehabilitation and the post operative neurologic patient and paroxysmal dyskinesias.


  • Zoetis Distinguished Teacher Award 2013

    Dr. Patricia Talcott

    Dr. Patricia Talcott

    Clinical Professor, Washington Animal Disease Diagnostic Lab and Director of Admissions. Dr. Talcott has received this award 4 times (1995, 2002, 2006 and 2013).


  • Zoetis Distinguished Teacher Award 2012

    Dr. Rance Sellon

    Dr. Rance Sellon

    Dr. Sellon's areas of interest include gastrointestinal disease, infectious disease, immunology and oncology.


  • Zoetis Distinguished Teacher Award 2011

    Dr. Tammy Grubb

    Dr. Tammy Grubb

    Dr. Grubb's research interests include cardiovascular and respiratory physiology and the effects on anesthetic drugs on the cardiovascular and respiratory systems. She is also very active in the relief of animal pain through the development of new analgesic drugs and through the education of colleagues, students and pet owners regarding treatment options for animals.


  • Zoetis Distinguished Teacher Award 2010

    Dr. Jeff Bryan

    Dr. Jeff Bryan

    Dr. Bryan is committed to improving the oncology care of companion animals as well as studying animal cancers as models for human disease. Dr. Bryan is currently studying the epigenetic alterations present in canine lymphoma, evaluating the epidemiology of canine cancers, and developing radiopharmaceutical imaging and therapy agents for cancer.


Washington State University