Recognition Awards

Zoetis (formerly Carl Norden) Distinguished Teacher Award



This award is sponsored by Zoetis and recognizes outstanding teachers who have contributed significantly to the advancement of the profession through their teaching abilities. The recipient of this award is selected by the fourth year class.

How the award works:

Each spring, the graduating 4th year students are tasked as follows:

The Zoetis Distinguished Teaching Award goes to a teacher who you feel, through his or her ability, dedication, character and leadership, has contributed significantly to the veterinary profession, as well as to the education of you and your classmates.

Who made the biggest and most important impact on you and the Class of 2016?

It’s very important that you consider ALL of your teachers – think back to first, second, and third year as well as your clinical experience when casting your vote.

The recipient will receive an engraved plaque and a $1,000 check from Zoetis. Each college winner is then eligible to be nominated by the college for the national award.

  • Eligibility:  Nominees must be full-time members of the faculty of the College of Veterinary Medicine and engaged primarily in teaching. Eligibility includes both tenure track and clinical/educator track faculty, but only faculty with the titles of assistant professor, associate professor, or professor. Staff and faculty with the titles of Instructor or Lecturer are not eligible.
  • Previous recipients do not become eligible for consideration again until the fourth year after receiving the award.

Faculty from all WIMU campuses (Pullman, Logan, and Bozeman) are eligible.

Selection: There are at least 2 rounds of voting. At least 50% of the graduating class MUST vote in each round. The first round of voting is nominations.

  • ROUND #1: You can nominate 1-3 faculty for further consideration and voting by using your smart phone, tablet, or any computer to enter the names of your nominee(s).

    To help you remember, we’ve posted a list of the many faculty who taught your class. It’s a long list, so please be sure to review all names. Then enter those names in your survey. The whole process should take less than 5 minutes.

  • In ROUND #2: The college will circulate a ballot with the names of the TOP 3-5 nominees, based on numbers of nominations. The winner will be recognized at the 2016 Spring Awards ceremony and become eligible for the NATIONAL Zoetis Distinguished Teacher Award.

  • Zoetis Distinguished Teacher Award 2003

    Dr. James Lincoln

    Dr. Michael Mison

    Dr. Lincoln is currently an Associate Professor of small animal surgery in the department of Veterinary Clinical Sciences and chief of the small animal surgery section.


  • Zoetis Distinguished Teacher Award 2002

    Dr. Patricia Talcott

    Dr. Patricia Talcott

    Dr. Talcott is an Associate Professor in Department of Food Science and Toxicology at the University of Idaho and an Adjunct Associate Professor in the Department of Veterinary Comparative Anatomy, Pharmacology, and Physiology at Washington State University. Dr. Talcott is a diplomate of the American Board of Veterinary Toxicology (ABVT).


  • Zoetis Distinguished Teacher Awards

    2001  Ahmed Tibary
    2000  Rance Sellon
    1999  Melissa T. Hines
    1998  Steven M. Parish
    1997  Venkat K. Reddy
    1996  Stephen A. Hines
    1995  Patricia A. Talcott
    1994  Richard B. Wescott
    1993  Venkat K. Reddy
    1992  Charles W. Leathers
    1991  Jarrett Newbrey
    1990  Steven M. Parish
    1989  Cheryl R. Dhein
    1988  Gordon Woods
    1987  David R. Hodgson
    1986  Steven M. Parish
    1985  James D. Lincoln
    1984  Charles W. Leathers
    1983  Thomas L. Spurgeon
    1982  Richard L. Ott
    1981  Steven M. Parish
    1980  Wallace B. Morrison
    1969  John E. Alexander
    1968  Frank K. Bracken
    1967  Guy R. Spencer
    1966  Frank K. Bracken
    1965  Richard L. Ott
    1964  Robert P. Worthman
    1963  Orville L. Frost
    1962  Frank K. Bracken

Washington State University