Recognition Awards

WSVMA Awards

Each year, the Washington State Veterinary Medical Association (WSVMA) honor individuals whose service has contributed significantly to the veterinary profession in Washington State.  Our WSU Faculty have received numerous awards including the "WSVMA Veterinarian of the Year" award, the "Distinguished Achievement" award, and the "WSU Faculty Member of the Year" award.

WSVMA Veterinarian of the Year:
 The "WSVMA Veterinarian of the Year" Award is given annually to the association member recognized for an outstanding career in veterinary medicine. The recipient must have shown remarkable achievement in professional service, community service, and fields other than veterinary medicine.

Distinguished Achievement Award: The "Distinguished Achievement" award is given in recognition of a singular outstanding achievement in veterinary medicine, public service, or other field of endeavor which reflects honor to the veterinary profession. Recipients do not need to be veterinarians, but veterinary recipients must be WSVMA members.
WSU Faculty Member of the Year: The "WSU Faculty Member of the Year" award is presented to recognize a WSU Faculty member who has served members of the WSVMA with distinction.

Humane Animal Welfare Award: The “Humane Animal Welfare” award is presented to a non-veterinarian who has advanced animal welfare through extraordinary service.

Distinguished Veterinary Staff Award: The “Distinguished Veterinary Staff ” award is presented to an individual who has gone above and beyond the expected responsibilities of the practice to provide outstanding client and patient service.

  • WSVMA WSU Faculty of the Year Award 2018

    Cardiology Team

    Veterinary Teaching Hospital's Cardiology team received the WSVMA WSU Faculty of the Year Award for 2018.  Seated from left to right are cardiology technician Raychel Fairchild, cardiology resident Dr. Christina Plante, cardiologist Dr. Lynne Nelson, and cardiologist Dr. Pamela M. Lee

  • WSVMA Distinguished Veterinary Staff Award 2018

    Alexis Adams

    Alexis Adams received the 2018 WSVMA Distinguished Veterinary Staff Award for her service to the veterinary profession and your work with the WSU Exotics Service..

  • Other Teaching Awards 2016

    WSU-Faculty-Award Steve Hines

    Dr. Steve Hines was awarded the 2016 Washington State University (WSU) Faculty Member of the Year. Dr. Hines is a Professor of Veterinary Microbiology & Pathology at WSU College of Veterinary Medicine. Dr. Hines has dedicated his life to improve the learning and overall experience for veterinary students at WSU.


  • WSVMA Awards 2015

    2015 WSVMA Awards

    Dale Moore received the 2015 WSU Faculty Member of the Year and Rachel Jensen receive the 2015 Distinguished Veterinary Staff award at the ‎WSVMA banquet and award ceremony.

  • WSVMA Awards 2014

    2014 WSVMA Awards

    (left to right) Suzanne Kurtz, PhD received the Distinguished Achievement Award, Dr. Julie Cary received the WSU Faculty Member of the Year Award, and Dr. Rick DeBowes was presented with the 2014 Veterinarian of the Year Award at the WSVMA banquet and award ceremonies on September 27.

Washington State University