Recognition Awards

WSVMA Awards

Each year, the Washington State Veterinary Medical Association (WSVMA) honor individuals whose service has contributed significantly to the veterinary profession in Washington State.  Our WSU Faculty have received numerous awards including the "WSVMA Veterinarian of the Year" award, the "Distinguished Achievement" award, and the "WSU Faculty Member of the Year" award.

WSVMA Veterinarian of the Year:
 The "WSVMA Veterinarian of the Year" Award is given annually to the association member recognized for an outstanding career in veterinary medicine. The recipient must have shown remarkable achievement in professional service, community service, and fields other than veterinary medicine.

Distinguished Achievement Award: The "Distinguished Achievement" award is given in recognition of a singular outstanding achievement in veterinary medicine, public service, or other field of endeavor which reflects honor to the veterinary profession. Recipients do not need to be veterinarians, but veterinary recipients must be WSVMA members.
WSU Faculty Member of the Year: The "WSU Faculty Member of the Year" award is presented to recognize a WSU Faculty member who has served members of the WSVMA with distinction.

Humane Animal Welfare Award: The “Humane Animal Welfare” award is presented to a non-veterinarian who has advanced animal welfare through extraordinary service.

Distinguished Veterinary Staff Award: The “Distinguished Veterinary Staff ” award is presented to an individual who has gone above and beyond the expected responsibilities of the practice to provide outstanding client and patient service.

CVM Undergraduate Excellence in Teaching Award - 2019

Mary Sanchez-Lanier

The first recipient of the inaugural CVM Undergraduate Excellence in Teaching Award is Mary Sanchez-Lanier , a Professor in the School of Molecular Biosciences and WSU Assistant Vice Provost.

Dr. Sanchez-Lanier was selected for this award upon the recommendation of students and faculty due to her many years of outstanding classroom instruction in virology, her strong leadership in undergraduate education at both the college and provost levels, and her external leadership in undergraduate programs run by the American Society for Microbiology and the Barry M. Goldwater Foundation.


Washington State University